ASEAN International Conference On Energy And Environment (AICEE)


Welcome to the 3rd ASEAN International Conference on Energy and Environment (AICEE), a flagship annual conference organized by the ASEAN Centre for Energy (ACE).

The AICEE serves as a platform for academia, policymakers, and the business sector to discuss energy and climate change issues in the ASEAN region. In conjunction with the ASEAN Energy Business Forum (AEBF) and the ASEAN Ministers on Energy Meeting (AMEM), this conference aims to promote interdisciplinary and multi-stakeholder collaboration in ASEAN.

ASEAN Centre for Energy (ACE) is an intergovernmental organisation within ASEAN structure that represents the 10 ASEAN Member States’ (AMS) interests in the energy sector. With their growing population and economic growth, AMS are expected to be a new global epicentrum of energy market in the future. This trend pushes energy security as one of the highest priorities in energy development in the region.

As the world grapples with the 2022 global energy crisis, energy security issues have become even more important for the region. Under the ASEAN Indonesia Chairmanship in 2023, connectivity and sustainability have become two priority agendas, strengthening interconnectivity in energy supply and market in ASEAN.

On the other hand, the ASEAN Plan of Action for Energy Cooperation (APAEC) Phase II: 2021-2025, a regional blueprint on energy cooperation, has a theme and sub-theme in which embracing energy transition is one of the key elements to achieve regional energy security and environmental sustainability.

Therefore, the concerns on energy security and sustainability call for collaborative planning and action between energy and climate change policymakers, scholars, and businesses, to find common ground and ensure success in both areas. Energy and climate experts sometimes work in their own chambers and have limited interaction with each other. To bridge the chamber and pave the way forward, the short-run target of energy security and the long-run target of sustainability should be reconciled within the framework of the energy transition. During the energy transition, a mixture of fossil fuels and renewable energy that maximizes economic growth and minimizes emissions might be preferable. The optimal road map to decarbonisation and shift to low carbon energy should also be developed.

The theme for this year’s AICEE is “Accelerating a Just, Secure and Resilient Energy Transition in ASEAN through Innovation and Interconnectivity“. This conference aims to facilitate discussions on interdisciplinary and cross-sectoral issues to promote the ASEAN Energy Blueprint and energy priorities of ASEAN Indonesia Chairmanship.

The objectives of the 3rd AICEE are twofold: firstly, to provide a forum for knowledge sharing among academia, policymakers, and the business sector on issues related to energy and climate change in ASEAN; secondly, to strengthen interdisciplinary and multi-stakeholder collaboration in ASEAN to accelerate a resilient energy security and transition.

Join us at the 3rd AICEE for an engaging and fruitful conference that will shape the future of energy in ASEAN. Don’t miss this opportunity to participate in inspiring discussions and establish valuable collaborations that will drive sustainable development in the energy sector.


Invited Speakers:



  • H.E. Arifin Tasrif (Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources, Indonesia) – in conjunction with AEBF
  • Dr. Nuki Agya Utama (Executive Director of ASEAN Centre for Energy)

Steering Committees

Dr. Nuki Agya Utama (Executive Director of ASEAN Centre for Energy)

Scientific/Editorial Committees

  • Dr. Ambiyah Abdullah (ASEAN Centre for Energy)
  • Dr. Muhammad Afiq Zubir (Universiti Teknologi Malaysia)
  • Dr. Ho Wai Shin (Universiti Teknologi Malaysia)
  • Dr. Zarina Ab Muis (Universiti Teknologi Malaysia)
  • Dr. Supawat Vivanpatarakij (Energy Research Institute, Chulalongkorn University)
  • Dr. Nitida Nakapreecha (Energy Research Institute, Chulalongkorn University)
  • Dr. Chattip Prommuak (Energy Research Institute, Chulalongkorn University)
  • Ir. Agus Putu Abiyasa, B.Eng., Ph.D (Universitas Pendidikan Nasional)
  • I Gusti Ngurah Putu Dharmayasa, S.T., M.T., Ph.D (Universitas Pendidikan Nasional)
  • Ir. I Wayan Aditya Suranata, S.Kom., M.Kom (Universitas Pendidikan Nasional)
  • Dr. Kampanart Silva (National Energy Technology Center)
  • Dr. Nuwong Chollacoop (National Energy Technology Center/ENTEC)
  • Prof. Scott Q. Turn (University of Hawai’i)
  • Dr. Quang-Vu Bach (University of Hawai’i)
  • Dr. Amar Hisham bin Jaaffar (Universiti Tenaga Nasional/UNITEN)
  • Dr. Hassan Mohamed (Universiti Tenaga Nasional/UNITEN)
  • Dr. Siti Indati Mustapa(Universiti Tenaga Nasional/UNITEN)

Organising Committees

Conference Chair

Dr. Zulfikar Yurnaidi

Conference Program

  • Rika Safrina
  • Suwanto
  • Amira Bilqis
  • Ghiffari Aby Malik Nasution
  • Juan Kosashi
  • Auliya Febriyanti
  • Diah Retno Yuniarni

Public Relations

Nella Nabila
Rinda Rufaidah

Information, Communication, and Technology (ICT)

Hartina Hiromi Satyanegara
Irfan Nasrullah


Bayu Surya Prayogie

Sign up for our


Choose category