Home / Media & Events / Articles / Next Steps for ASEAN Petroleum Security Agreement

Next Steps for ASEAN Petroleum Security Agreement

23 January 2017

The 2nd ASEAN Petroleum Security Agreement (APSA) Task Force (TF) Phase II Meeting was held back to back with the Special Senior Official Meeting on Energy (SOME) and the 19th ACE Governing Council on 23 January 2017. The Meeting was attended by 7 (seven) ASEAN Member States (AMS); Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Also in the attendance were the representatives of ASEAN Council on Petroleum (ASCOPE), ASEAN Centre for Energy (ACE) and ASEAN Secretariat.

The Meeting tried to improve the APSA document so it could be implemented in ASEAN. The resulting document incorporates the TF’s recommendations to make APSA operable.  The results of consultation with the APSA TF Members were presented to the Special SOME the next day.  The 3rd Meeting of APSA TF will be held in March 2017 and the results will be presented in the 35th SOME and ASEAN Meeting on Energy Meeting in the Philippines in July and September 2017, respectively. (SBS.  Featured photo credit:  MOEE Myanmar)