The ASEAN Energy Awards 2020 submission is now open!

More Info


About ASEAN Energy Awards

ASEAN Energy Award is Southeast Asia’s highest reward to encourage and bring about recognition of greater private sector participation and interest in energy development of the ASEAN region in partnership with the public sector. It consists of 3 categories including:

  • ASEAN Coal Awards
  • ASEAN Energy Efficiency and Conservation Best Practices Awards
  • ASEAN Renewable Energy Project Awards

The awards are expected to be the instrument to promote clean coal technology (CCT), energy efficiency, and renewable energy development to contribute towards energy sustainability and to provide a mechanism for organisations to continuously search, benchmark and acknowledge initiatives and best practices in energy development.

Coal Award

The Coal Award is a good platform to emphasise and encourage AMS to utilise coal in an environmentally responsible manner.

Energy Efficiency & Conservation (EE&C) Award

The EE&C Award is a methodological support tool designed to provide public recognition for excellence in the field of energy efficiency and conservation. The awards aim to enhance awareness and encouragement to private sector participation in EE&C, specifically in buildings and industry.

Renewable Energy (RE) Award

The RE Award is an annual award to encourage sustainable RE project which exhibit originality, provide market-based solutions and environmental benefits, and make significant socio-economic contributions.

Winners List

Below is the list of past awardees of ASEAN Energy Awards.


Learn more what ASEAN Energy Awards is about.

How is the submission/nomination process?

The Application Form must be channeled through the designated Focal Points of the ASEAN Energy Efficiency and Conservation Sub-Sector Network (EE&C-SSN) in each ASEAN Member State. The Focal Points shall ensure that the applications are in full compliance with the rules and requirements of the competition.  The Focal Points shall submit 2 original hard copies of each entry to ACE. The hard copies will be used as physical evidence of the judges during the Final BOJ Meeting and for ACE’s documentation.

Who is eligible to participate?

Each AMS can submit any initiatives which are implemented in ASEAN region with a focus to promote environment improvement, energy saving and the use of clean technology to contribute towards energy sustainability and to provide mechanism for organisations to continuously search, benchmark and acknowledge initiatives and best practices in energy development. The submission must satisfy the pre-qualification requirement and procedures as stated in the AEA guideline for each category.

How much do I have to pay to participate?

Participation is free of cost! Application should be endorsed by EE&C-SSN Focal Points of each AMS with a letter of endorsement signed by the Focal Points.

What are the benefits of joining the award?

Winners of the awards are selected among the participants by a judging panel based on the achievements during the competition period. The winners are awarded with trophies and plaques and are given high-profile recognition in an award presentation ceremony attended by the Ministers of Energy from ASEAN Member States and other delegates.

Subscribe to our newsletter